top of page

Autumn in the Highlands

I got the itch for a wee road trip last weekend - so I took the back roads from Inverness up to Tongue, Durness and looped back via Lairg.


If you're ever around Durness, do yourself a favour and have a hot chocolate at Cocoa Mountain in Balnakeil.


The cafe is part of the Balnakeil Craft Village - which is definitely worth a sticky beak.


Rispond Beach (not far before you reach Smoo Cave) is also a real gem.


I spent ages beach combing there and watching brave punters ride the Zip Line between the cliffs.


My favourite spot of the day though goes to Loch Stack.


My photos here don't do it justice - but to be honest, I didn't want to spend long looking at it through my iPhone screen anyway.


So I took a couple of shots, chucked the phone back in the car and sat, watched and sketched.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page